The 26 Qualities of a Devotee

By Swami Bhakti Aloka Paramadvaiti

Dear friend, below we present to you the 26 identified qualities of a true devotee of the Lord. One who always seeks for the truth and does no harm to others is definitely on the correct path. The Vedas do not permit prejudices or sectarian views; they have been revealed to mankind to guide us towards the perfection of life. Do not fear to give up the forbidden activities you have been participating in until now; there is no loss in renouncing these. What is the perfection of human life? This is the question for spiritual advancement through one’s evolution of consciousness.

The Vedas announce, Atato-brahma-jijnasa; human life is a gift from God to enable us to search and find the truth. But this is not necessarily easy due the internal battle between good and evil. There is always the possibility of abandoning common sense and respect for others in order to favour oneself, often in spite of the suffering of others.

The following qualities help each of us to perfect ourselves, and as much as one can cultivate them the better person one will be; indeed those persons who possess these qualities are our eternal inspiration.

1. Kripalu. Merciful, kind to everyone.
This quality consists in the empathy one feels
when seeing the suffering of other people, and always inspires the desire to help others. The best help to others is to teach them what the cause of suffering is, and encourage them to get out of their state of ignorance.

2. Akrita-rodha. Serene, does
not quarrel with anyone.One who has this quality is a lover of peace and wants to reach the heart of everyone; seeing them all as brothers and sisters, maintained by the same source.

3. Satyasarah. Truthful, fixed in the Absolute Truth.
Enjoying truth, the devotee knows that overcoming the tendency to lie is a step forwards towards
God and purity.

4. Sama. Equal to everyone.
A devotee feels himself to be a loving servant of everyone; he takes shelter of spiritually advanced people, is a friend to those on the same level and offers a helping hand to those who need help on their spiritual path.

5. Mirdosa. Faultless.
Even if a devotee commits errors accidentally, by being pure in purpose, divine protection is received.

6. Vadanya. Magnanimous.
Forgiving even the offenders, the devotee gives divine love to everyone.

7. Mrityu. Composed.
A devotee always maintains his composure, even after being rejected or insulted.

8. Suchi. Clean.
Keeping internally clean by chanting the Names of God, and externally clean via personal hygiene and correct actions.

9. Akinchana. Simple, without material possessions.
The highest realization is to see everything as God’s property. Even when responsible for various types of property, the devotee sees it all as God’s property, and uses them appropriately in His Service.

10. Sarvo-pakaraka. Benevolent.
The devotee work for the welfare of others. Not only theoretically, but he is an activist that works for a better world

11. Santa. Peaceful.
Relishing internal peace and manifesting goodness, the devotee is able to maintain impartial criteria; thus, can
avoid the unnecessary conflicts in the world.

12. Krishnaika sarana. Completely attached to Krishna (Sanskrit Name for God).
God is the well-wisher of all living entities. Attachment to Him means the devotee can not do anything bad to other living entities; the devotee
wants to become an instrument of God’s Love towards others.

13. Akam. Desireless, without material hankering.
A devotee is responsible for all his actions and all his possessions; but he is readily able to be unattached if
it is required to achieve the goal of a higher cause.

14. Aniha. Modest, indifferent towards material acquisitions or attainments.
Material things are useful, but obsession towards them turns into idolatry and deviation from the divine path.

15. Esthira. Steady, fixed.
For the materialist, the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence; the realization
s of a devotee though, are fixed and is not disturbed even in times of difficulties.

16. Vijitasad guna. Self-controlled.
There are six undesirable qualities: lust, anger, greed, illusion, madness and envy.
Lust make us fall and anger lurks in the mood of ignorance. If we don’t fight these enemies there is no chance to make progress.

17. Mno itavuk. Does not eat more than required.
One should live moderately, frugally and not waste the energy of God in any way

18. Apra matta. Sane, healthy.
No real happiness can be bought with the consumption of intoxicating pills, smokes or drinks; these only make people mad, without a healthy body or brain. Living a healthy, sane life,
Those who aspire for perfection and divine mercy never intoxicate

19. Manada. Respectful.
Always kind and polite, especially towards senior persons or advanced souls, everybody feels well in his company.

20. Amani. Humble, free from false prestige.
Even if the devotee is successful in the world, he remains simple and makes all people feel comfortable in his presence. All his achievements
he recognises as the glory of the spiritual master and due to God’s grace.

21. Gambhira. Grave, solemn.
A devotee is a very serious person, always open-minded and ready to help other people.


22. Karuna. Compassionate

Being grateful for all he has, the devotee has compassion for all living entities.Understanding the natural law of karmic interactions in this world, he tries to help the suffering people with pertinent advice. In his heart there is a place for everyone

23. Maitra. Friendly.
A devotee
encourages everyone; putting aside elitism and party spirit that divides society due to generalised divisions which disregard the qualities of the individual.

24. Kavi. Poetic.
Alone or in public, a devotee express his feelings and prayers as a poetic witness of his rejoicing heart in glorification of the Lord and His mercy.

25. Daksa. Expert.
A devotee does things with full attention and to the best of his ability. Being responsible means that all things are done very well.

26. Mauni. Silent.
A devotee remains silent when there are no transcendental subjects. A devotee’s life is absorbed in eternal love; therefore he has no attraction for mundane topics.

These qualities are worthy
to strive for; by hankering to develop them in this very life, one’s existence will become highly auspicious. In order to have a good hope to attain to this level, the Vedicscriptures recommend meditating on the sacred Maha Mantra:

Hare Krishna Hare Krishna
Krishna Krishna Hare Hare
Hare Rama Hare Rama
Rama Rama Hare Hare.

my Lord! Please let me become aninstrument of Your Love.”

This mantra eliminates the obstacles on the path and frees the mind from doubt. It was
given by Caitanya Mahaprabhu over 500 years ago especially for this age of Kali, which is characterized by laziness, irreligion, quarrel and hypocrisy; This era is also called the ‘age of iron’ due to its blood-letting tendencies. According to the Vedas, 5,025 years have passed of this era, with 427,000 left to go.

Of course, it is not easy to advance towards perfection; but without trying nothing can be achieved. We maintain Yoga Centres to offer good association to those brave persons who are ready to search for the exit from the chaos that surrounds us on a daily basis. Thanks to my Spiritual Master Srila Prabhupada for being a soul with all the good qualities that he invited us all to the
eternal world of the Supreme Lord.

Swami B.A. Paramadvaiti
Translated by Gopini devi dasi & Gopananda dasa